Tags

, , , ,

poet

I’m the first to admit that I’m not a perfect writer. Why? It’s due to the fact that when I’m writing my mind is flying. It fly’s past typing and grammar errors. That’s why I’m a writer and not an editor. I’d give my back teeth to  have an editor for my novels but I simply can’t afford one.

I read a refreshing, brave and encouraging blog entry by ‘A Not So Jaded Life‘ that echoed these sentiments. I have never seen a blogger be so open about their flaws before.

Not one of us writers write perfectly, whether it be grammar, facts or otherwise. When it comes to writing a factual piece I research it thoroughly and try to give opinions from all angles, including my own. I’m a big boy now. I can cop the flack. I’m fall down somewhat when it comes to grammar. As I write, I’m two paragraphs ahead of myself mentally.

I also write quickly. I can be writing a blog entry or poem whilst thinking of a novel that I’m working on. It doesn’t matter how often I proof read a piece, I’m sure to find an error.I make a point of going back and correcting it. There’s nothing worse than reading a great blog error with poor grammar. That’s not lack of ability as a writer, it’s tardiness.

What I have taken to doing is emailing a piece to friends and they inevitably send it back pointing out any errors.

As I mentioned previously, I would give my false teeth to be able to afford an editor. Who knows, maybe one day I’ll write a best-seller and I could get myself an editor without sacrificing my false teeth.

