Tags

, , ,

 

one

I don’t know about you, dear reader but I can’t get a handle on poems that consist of one word per line. It’s not through lack of trying. I’ve tried plenty of times with no luck. After about six lines (and thus six words) I develop dyslexia.

I’ve tried reading the poems backwards; ie. from bottom to top….Nup! I have even tried writing the words out on a separate page and they simply don’t make sense. The words seem predominantly lengthy or powerful in nature but there is no imagery to them and the poems predominantly have no theme.

I wrote to an author of one such poem and was given a pseudo-intellectual response that didn’t match the poem at all. (I didn’t write back).

I even attempted to write a poem with one word per line but ended up confusing myself.

Maybe
I’m
As
Thick
As
A
Brick
But
With
MY
IQ
I
Doubt
It.

Maybe I should enter the above poem in a competition. There’s no way that I’d win. It’s not abstract or obscure enough….or whatever therm they use to make it sound cool, hip or  exclusive enough for that genre.

No doubt I’m missing something here with these one word per line poems . Please enlighten me if I am.

*By the way; I’m not telling you my IQ. If you can guess it I’ll send you a banana skin to slip on.*

