Tags

, , ,

time

Life is full of variables. There are very few constants. ‘Time’ is probably the most solid constant. Irrespective of what’s happening in any of our lives, time ticks on regardless.

The way that time affects us and the way in which we manage it fascinates me. It always has. When I’m in town I tend to walk quickly….because I don’t like being in town. I do, however, wonder why some people almost sprint while others casually stroll. When it comes down to it, they’re all doing the same thing, aren’t they? They’re all going somewhere.

When it comes to grocery shopping, I sprint! This is because I hate it. Not only do I don my running shoes, I put on my sunglasses hoping to avoid being recognised by someone who’s going to keep me in there one second more than I have to be. I hated it even more when going with my -ex wife. She would stand for ages gazing at a rack. I’d ask, “What are you looking for?” She would reply, “Oh, just looking,” then eventually walk off empty handed. It must be a ‘woman thing.’ I do not mean that in a sexist way. (I’ll explain why shortly).

I am a rather fast walker these days. I never used to be. I retired as a State Registered Nurse in 2009. (This is where I found it wise not to be sexist….not that one should be sexist anyway).  Whilst at work I never walked quickly down a ward. I strolled. To me it’s a sign of disorganisation. It is also potentially dangerous.

I have a ‘thing’ about deadlines too. If I have an appointment, I am always ten minutes early I become anxious if I may not be ten minutes early. If someone tells me that they’ll be at a certain place at a certain time, I expect them to be there at that time. If they run late I become very anxious. Differing attitudes towards this issue fascinate me too.  Some people are usually prompt while some come and go with a devil may care attitude, with little respect for others.

Also, whilst talking about my ‘thing’ about deadlines, when I played in a rock band many years ago, I never worried that things would run on time. I almost had to be tied up to keep me off the stage and begin playing.

How are you with time?

