Tags

, , , , ,

Guitar Pic

After over twelve months away from it I have recently (this morning) returned to music recording. For the record I have been an online recording artist since 2007.

The first thing that has struck me about returning to recording is how ‘rusty’ I have become in just over twelve months. as a multi-instrumentalist, my fingers won’t do what I want them to do.

I shall be beginning by doing a non-commercial album of obscure versions of obscure cover songs by the likes of Dylan, The Stones, Clapton and the likes. On hearing the opening bars to the tracks, I have envisaged that the listener will not guess what the upcoming song actually is. I hope that my versions are enjoyed by the listener…..he says, stating the obvious.

I must say that I am surprised how out of touch with playing I have become over the last twelve or so months. I Look at my mixing desk daily and this morning spent an age re-familiarising myself with it. I was pressing  wrong buttons leftt, right and centre and even forgetting what buttons and knobs were for.

I have not touched my guitar since May 2015 under the arrogant assumption that I could pick it up and play  it as well as I used to. Man, was I wrong. Even though I shall be doing cover material to begin with there is going to have to be a lot of practising to be done beforehand.

I shall keep you posted.

If you would like to hear full-length previews of my material (no hard sell, just pure listening), simply click here.

