Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Before you read on, please bear in mind that this entry is merely my opinion.

Poet

As writer I get to read a lot of poetry. I enjoy poetry but I’m fussy with it and probably have a slightly different take on it than many. I enjoy poetry more than I enjoy reading books.

I’m not much one for poetry that consists of one or two words per line. I find it difficult to follow. Maybe I’m a bit thick or not ‘arty’ enough. If I read too many poems in succession about lost love I find myself getting depressed so I have to spread my reading out over the day. They get a bit ‘samey.’

When I read a poem that I don’t go much on, I often click ‘like’ anyway. Why? I click ‘like’ because I admire the fact that the writer has the confidence to get their emotions out there and out there for the world to read.

I rarely comment on blog entries as I find that most comments are all pretty much the same. They don’t need me adding to this repetition. I will, however, comment if a poem ‘touches’ me. I try to make my comment positive and (obviously) relevant.

Lengthy poems throw me off balance. By the time I get to the end of a piece I’ve forgotten what the start of it was. I like concise poetry and you will find this if you encountered my poetry blog.

To me, a poem must tell a story. I’m not one for abstract poetry. A friend of mine once commented on this when speaking of the great beat poet Allen Ginsberg. He said that reading his work was like peeling an onion. Once you peel back all the layers to get to the middle of the meaning, you’re in tears. I enjoy Ginsberg but my friend has a point.

I recently encountered a Youtube clip of another beat poet, Michael McClure, reading the lyrics of the late Jim Morrison from The Doors. His reading gave the song a whole new meaning. I took myself to the library and hired out a book on Morrisons’ lyrics. I was astounded. It totally changed my opinion of Morrison. I now see him as 90% poet and 10% rock star. I also apply this to the writings of the late Kurt Cobain. I rank them, as lyricists, up there with Bob Dylan.

I guess, like all of the arts, poetry is a matter of different strokes for different folks. This is the beauty of poetry. I guess it’s like music, art, etc.

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

 

