Tags

, , ,

Mental Illness

I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder and an anxiety disorder in 2009. Since then I receive regular treatment from my psychiatrist and doctor. I have also researched the conditions heavily. I am by no means an expert but I think that I have a sound knowledge of what I am talking about.

Over my years of research the term ‘fake it to make it’ kept popping up. This term alludes to ‘pretending’ that you’re okay in order to achieve a particular task, particularly a task that involves dealing with people. I employed this tactic and as difficult as it was It worked. I was later to find out that it had a nasty catch.

After continuing with my ‘fake it to make it’ for some time, I was to discover that it didn’t address the underlying stress that caused me to employ it. Even though I felt good after faking it to make it I would return home to find that the underlying stress was still there. Faking it to make it was merely a band aid. My stress lay there festering.

The next time my anxiety would rear its’ ugly head I would continue with the fake it to make it tactic. Again I got through my stressful situation but return home again to my underlying stress. This stress now accompanied and added to my already underlying stress.

This went on for months until my latent stress, temporarily masked by ‘fake it to make it,’ finally resulted in a nervous breakdown. I now know the warning signs, do not employ the tactic and seek medical help.

I am not saying that ‘fake it to make it’ doesn’t work. It works for situations such as public speaking and so forth. For situations that do not involve mental illness it has been proven to work very well.

If you find that faking it to make it is becoming a regular part of your life that you seek assistance. Help is out there.

