Tags

, ,

Dog BarkingThere’s a dog not far from here that, every few times a week barks constantly late at night. Not only does it keep me awake, it brings my imagination to a grinding halt. This is when I have my best ideas, hence the notepad next to my bed.

Why it barks is anybodys guess. I would have thought that it would annoy the owners, unless they’re out….a lot. It surely must annoy the neighbours who I thought might have a quiet word with the owners.

It drives me to distraction as the time drags on into the wee small hours and I dread the  prospect of a sleepless tomorrow. I’ll get up and have a cigarette with the misguided notion that this may stop the dog barking. Am I nuts?

Every now and again the dog will stop barking, lulling me into a false sense of sanity. Then it starts again. Is this dog playing mind games with me? Don’t be ridiculous Bob. If it barked in rhythm it wouldn’t be so bad but it’s so sporadic and jerky. Nerve jangling even.

Dogs barking first thing in the morning don’t bother me so much. They help me wake up. Admittedly it’s not the most ideal way to wake up but it could be worse.

Dogs barking late at night should be outlawed. Were I capable of killing, I would kill that dog….but I can’t even kill a fly.

