Misty Moon

I saw myself the other night.

It was in a dream.

As I shuffled out of the drug store

I caught my eye.

Was a ghostly white and

Everything was as it seemed.

As the rain began to cry.

My head is light

But I’m heavy on the ground.

It’s so easy to deceive.

I don’t want light

And I hate the noise of sound.

No-one knows when to leave.

I am the midnight man.

Trapped inside a dream.

I am the midnight man.

Waiting to be seen.

Do I know what I mean?

I’m trying but I can’t scream.

There’s a gun to my head

And I’m not allowed to say.

I can hear their choices too.

No-one said

For them to stay away.

And think their voices through.

I broke

Something that could not be broken.

I still feel the chimes of doom

Someone spoke

Something that could not be spoken.

Late one Wednesday afternoon.

I am the midnight man.

Trapped inside a dream.

I am the midnight man.

Waiting to be seen.

Do I know what I mean?

I’m trying but I can’t scream.

\\

