Tags

, , ,

QuillTo say that writing and I get along well with each other would be something of an understatement.

Ever since I was a young boy in Scotland I enjoyed writing poetry and short stories. Now that I have reached middle-age I have found myself writing fiction books.

As a writer I am not the Bob Findlay whose hands shake so much that I sometimes struggle to get my cigarette into its’ holder nor am the Bob Findlay who worries about things that need not be worried about as outlined in my book ‘Lying Down.’

When I’m writing I become part of the book that I am writing. I am not the hero nor am I the villain. I am the character that I am writing about at any given moment. I am also the scene. I feel, whilst engrossed in writing, that I  am a ‘inside’ the book and part of the book as an entity separate from Bob Findlay the person.

As a writer one can take oneself and the reader to any place that they wish. If the writer wants to write about a bed of roses then they can go right ahead and do so. If a writer chooses to write about Nazi sex-death Satan hunters, then there’s nothing stopping them.

If my memory serves me well it was Bob Dylan who once said words to the effect that everybody has a book in them. I tend to agree. On the flip-side I also believe that there is a book out there for everyone, however reticent a reader may be.

From my experience and feedback, readers don’t like too much predictability but do not like too many outrageous twists that defy belief. It’s a very fine balance and takes quite a lot of effort to turn the plot of a book upside down within the space of a sentence….or less. It can be done, however, with devastating effect. It’s all a matter of getting the timing and balance of the ‘twist’ right.

To find out more about my writing style, click here.

